End of month view – May 2017

Come in, please, I’d be delighted to show you round my garden. Can I suggest you put on over-trousers, there are places where the path gets narrow and it was drizzling earlier, everything’s a bit wet.
Let’s start round here, I’m afraid I didn’t get to my poppy in time to stake it. Seemed to go down overnight. My Camellia ‘Nightrider’ is leafing out as beautifully as ever. That’s coming over the path too, suppose I’ll have to trim it back before long.

Path-1

This bit beyond the trellis is pretty shady. The Weigela has done better this year than for a while. The bamboo is getting a bit unruly, I’ve already taken ten or more stems out where they were leaning across the path. I use on the allotment for my runners. That

Path-2

thing down to your left there, that’s Polygonatum mengzense tonkinensis HWJ573. Hinkley and Wynn-Jones, need I say more. OK, the flowers aren’t stunning, but it’s a very elegant little plant. That’s Impatiens omeiana behind it, but you knew that. That’ll flower much later, provided I keep it moist. The Polygonatum has bright red berries right along the stem, I got seed out a few weeks back and sowed them; nothing yet. That big clump over there is Blechnum chilense; it’s too happy, trying to take over the garden. I love the new fronds unfurling but I’m going to have to chop it back.

Pot-Camellias

That’s all my pot grown camellias to your left there. Why in pots? Well I wish I had room to put them in the ground but I don’t. Some of them are a bit tender too, they go in for winter. That Polygonatum over there, the one the cat is sniffing, is just your common or garden Solomon’s Seal. Usually gets trashed by sawflies, this year, nothing. I squashed a couple of adults and rubbed off a couple of batches of eggs, is all. Right, this way.

Path-3

I sorted out my polytunnel. That’s where all that junk on the path came from. Agapanthus, that one, enormous, biggest I’ve ever seen when it’s growing well. In the tunnel? mostly camellias, tomatoes too. The toms provide shade for the camellias. The plan is to go to a show next year and sell loads. Camellias, not tomatoes. That’s my home made family apple tree just there. I did six grafts back in January, three varieties, all took. They’ve made just as much growth as the established shoots. Even some apples on one of ’em, though I should really remove them. Come on, this way. There is a path under

path-4

these neriness, be careful though, they’re awful slippy. Worse later when the leaves die down. This paved semi-circle was our top of the garden sitting area once. Look at it now.

Glasshouse-3

The glasshouse is half empty, you can actually walk to the other end. The other half’s obsession, cacti.

path-5

Right, push past the Chionochloa and mind where you’re treading. The Dianthus are just the thing for breaking up the edge of the path. Paving slabs are very practical, but the less I see of them the happier I am. I’d normally have chopped the Fuchsias back but they didn’t stop flowering all winter and if I did it now the bumble bees would be well pissed off. I love the colour of that geranium. While you’re here, just cut through the border there and clamber up the bank. Look at that view down the back of the glasshouse. Not

back-view

bad for a bit no-one sees. Yes, that is Fuchsia excorticate coming through the fence, well recognised. Actually, while we’re up here, I’ll do my every month shot from here. The Schefflera taiwaniana is getting bigger, I’m going to have to move my viewpoint slightly.

view-3-31-05-2017

Another few years and the Schefflera and Pittosporum will be fighting it out. Further round the path is blocked with fuchsias I’ve potted up into 7.5 litres. Oh, and pot grown spuds, and lettuce. Yes, Dahlias too. They should have been out by now, bit slow to get going.

path-6

Oh gosh, look at the time, I can see you need to get going. I’ll just leave you with some pictures, you can browse them at you leisure.

View-1-31-05-2017

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Thrown together as my contribution to the Patient Gardeners end of month meme. There’ll be links to many more I don’t doubt.

 

2 thoughts on “End of month view – May 2017

Leave a Reply

